Premium VPN Review Bitdefender

Premium VPN Review Bitdefender 2019 – Underwhelming VPN Backed by a Well-known Brand! ByNovak Bozovic-October 4, 2019 “2/2.1500.png” We’re sure Bitdefender doesn’t need any introduction for many of you. This is one of the best known cyber-security companies in the world, offering a range of free and premium products. Unsurprisingly Bitdefender also offers a VPN service designed to safeguard your identity online. But just because this VPN comes from a well-known firm doesn’t necessarily mean it’s good. We are sure that you already know that which is why you are reading this article. So welcome to our hands-on review of the Bitdefender Premium VPN! So first stuff. We’ll introduce you to this VPN alternative by listing some of its highlights. Having said that take a quick look at the table below. Quick Facts Jurisdiction Logs No personally identifiable information is registered. Server number Unknown server number 27 countries. Encryption standards AES-256 OpenVPN HydraVPN for parallel connections. Speed 8 per cent reduction on average. P2P Support Get Bitdefender Premium VPN Next we know you’re fans of streaming media. Don’t worry we tested if Bitdefender Premium VPN could unblock websites like Netflix Hulu and others. Media Streaming Support American Netflix NO BBC iPlayer NO Amazon Prime Video NO NO We’ve got one more table for you before we start explaining various aspects of this VPN. This one is for those in a hurry as we will present our findings post-review. Here are the biggest downsides of using Bitdefender Premium VPN and the benefits. The Fast and Reliable Installation of the Bottom Line Pros Simplistic UI Easy. Data leaks detected Problematic background on the server network Can’t unblock media streaming websites Not worth the price. The Final Verdict We advise you to avoid this VPN service. Finding a much more capable and dependable alternative should be easy. Our Score 4.7/10

Bitdefender Premium VPN – TechNadu’s Hands-On Review

You will find a series of separately rated aspects of this VPN when you continue reading. Here’s our article on how we review the VPN services to learn more about this process. Make sure it reads quickly.

Doesn’t it?

Bitdefender is a Romanian based company established in 2001. It specializes in the sale of Internet security solutions for anti-virus software and various other types of cyber-safety products. It has around 500 million users worldwide according to a Statista report. In general it could be said that despite being in the European Union14 Eyes AllianceEU’s Data Retention DirectiveCyberGhost VPNibVPNVPN.AC Romania is very friendly towards VPN-related businesses. Now comes another important piece of information here. In fact Bitdefender Premium VPN does not own its servers. Instead, it relies on the infrastructure provided by Hotspot Shieldformal complaints that the CDT has submitted a while back. As you can see the Hotspot Shield connection can be seen as a major impediment to using this VPN.

We are pleased to say that the Bitdefender Premium VPN comes from the past without any serious accusations. In other words this VPN was never connected to any leaks of data. There are also no reports of this VPN gathering its users ‘ private information. Hence it seems like a trustworthy option – for now at least.

Platforms Supported Devices

Bitdefender Premium VPN is compatible with the most popular platforms. It does not come as a stand-alone application however. Our Score: Score 4/10. Now we will check which platforms are compatible to this VPN. More precisely we’ll talk about Bitdefender’s offered native applications. MacOS Windows Desktop Platform Compatibility Platform. Android and iOS. N / A Routers Web browsers N / A. S / A. We can see that just the most popular platforms are covered by Bitdefender Premium VPN. We’re talking about Android and iOS Windows macOS-which means four native applications are on offer. Sadly users of Linux are left out. The same is true for Android TV FireOS users, and the like. What’s shocking is that you can’t have this VPN mounted on a router. This VPN has decided to rely on native applications only, despite relying on the OpenVPN protocol (which can be installed and used on a wide range of routers). It is also worth noting that this is not a stand-alone product. Instead it comes as an add-on used with Bitdefender’s other solutions: Total Security Internet Security and Antivirus Plus. All these are premium priced options which can be used on multiple devices. You can actually choose how many devices you wish to use them on. This choice allows you to use the VPN on the same number of devices (from 1 to 10).

Prominent features

“2/2.1504.jpg” The Premium VPN Bitdefender is a rather simple VPN. It does also have some more advanced features but these are not found in this product’s ‘ VPN aspect ‘ (they come from the primary Bitdefender product that you are using). Our Rating: 5/10. VPN Features Checklist DNS Leak Protection YES IPv6 Leak Protection NO Ad-Blocker Anti-Malware YES / NO Unlimited Server Switches YES Unlimited Data YES A basic set of features including protection against DNS leakage. The tunnel to this VPN also protects your IPv4 traffic. However you will need to disable it on your device to protect your IPv6 traffic (so that it downgrades to IPv4). There is no included kill-switch in terms of more advanced options which can be seen as a highly problematic aspect. Next it should be noted that you will also end up with an extension to a Web browser. This will help you fight phishing attacks by trackers and other dangers online. And finally you will be getting unlimited bandwidth and data switches from the server. Server Count

“2/2.1505.jpg” The Premium VPN bitdefender comes with an unknown number of servers in 27 countries. That’s quite surprising and we’ve been expecting more from such a large company. Our Rating: 3/10. In this segment we will discuss the size of the server network for this VPN. Bitdefender isn’t quite the most transparent VPN out there as you’re about to see.Local Cities Availability NO Random Switching YES Bitdefender doesn’t want to address how many servers its VPN provides. As its customer support says this is not being discussed for reasons related to security and we can understand that. Nevertheless, 90 percent of today’s VPNs use this information as a selling point for their services-as it allows easy comparison between different VPN providers.

Facility of use

“2/2.1506.jpg” It’s obvious that this VPN is tailored for average home users – who want it all fully automated. There’s nothing to do with that advanced users will be disappointed. Our Rating: 6/10. “2/2.1507.jpg” Once you have logged in to a secure Bitdefender Premium VPN server, you will be notified. You will also be able to see how many data you downloaded and submitted during each session can be a valuable piece of information. “2/2.1508.jpg” Click on the hamburger button in the top-left corner to dive a bit deeper. This will open a new menu with few options that will allow you to check the details of your subscription, go to the customer support page of Bitdefender and check the information about the currently installed version of Bitdefender Premium VPN. This is also where you can modify some options by clicking on ‘ Settings. ‘ Unfortunately there are only three options here so there’s not much choice. You can allow / disable alerts and start up, and you can choose to protect unsecured Wi-Fi networks automatically.

“2/2.1509.jpg” Bitdefender Premium VPN is not a good alternative for streaming media. It does not block P2P traffic however. Our Score: Score 2/10. Now we’ll see which media streaming platforms can be unblocked via Bitdefender Premium VPN. Check out the table below to see our test results. Media Streaming Torrenting Support NO Hulu NO BBC iPlayer NO Security Privacy

“2/2.1510.jpg” As we have detected an alarming data leak through our DNS leak tests. Second, that beats the intent of using this VPN. Our Rating: 1/10. We will use this section to look at this VPN’s privacy-related features. More specifically we’re going to talk about its VPN protocol logging policy and more about its encryption standards. Supported Encryption Protocols

You’ll get the latest one that’s currently available in terms of encryption. We are talking about AES-256 which is deemed uncrackable. You should also know then that the VPN of Bitdefender is powered by the OpenVPN protocol which is also considered incredibly secure. And although there is no information about which protocols iOS and Android apps use we suspect that Hotspot Shield might power HydraVPN. Another very strong option.

Logging policy As one might expect, Bitdefender offers a very detailed privacy policy for such a large-scale company. Our experience also tells us that major cyber-security companies collect lots of data to deliver their services and enhance their offering. Bitdefender collects ‘ randomly generated or hashed user and device IDs IP address and randomly generated tokens to establish VPN connection ‘ as its privacy policy states. Hence some data logging happens in the background when using this VPN. Bitdefender reserves the right to track your online activities and report those to third parties if there is a justifiable cause. So this isn’t an online solution to be 100 percent anonymous.

DNS Leak Test

Figure 1 Detects a DNS leak! As the above screenshot shows a leak in DNS data was detected. This is definitely a major issue-and in the first place it beats the purpose of using this VPN. This means third parties will be able to read your ‘ true ‘ information, rather than just seeing your ‘ virtual ‘ information.

Speed Performance

Speed performance

This is truly a fast VPN service that brings close to minimal throttling. We were surprised at both nearby and remote servers performing. Our Rating: 9/10. The performance of any VPN depends on a vast array of variables. We did a round of speed tests however that will give you an idea of what kind of results you should expect. So let’s check out those test results. “2/2.1513.jpg” Figure 2-Our files. First we did a speed test of our bare web connection-without running this VPN in the background. We managed to get 147.29 Mbps for downloads during this round, and 9.79 Mbps for uploads.Upload Speed Speed Reduction Baseline Data 147.29 Mbps 9.79 Mbps Nearby Server 140.40 Mbps 9.45 Mbps 5 percent Remote Server 9.42 Mbps 11 percent We conclude Bitdefender Premium VPN has slowed us down by an average of 8 percent. We have to say this is one of the best results we have obtained from any VPN yet. However, considering numerous other problems we faced while using this VPN, this is not much worth it.

Customer Support “2/2.1516.jpg” There are different ways to get help – but it seems to be too complicated for the entire system. Still a bit of effort will go a long way on your part. Our Rating: 7/10. Bitdefender has been around for quite a while – so it knows how to offer support to customers. It comes with a unified customer support portal including the VPN service for all of its products. You can check the knowledgebase of frequently asked questions and you can also search the official community forum for help. If you need to speak to someone from this company you can send them an email call or chat live with an agent. As you can see, there are a lot of different ways of getting help. This whole system can however be somewhat complicated and difficult to navigate. Also the agents of Bitdefender do not seem to be overly knowledgeable if you ask for something more complicated as you are often redirected to another department.

“2/2.1517.jpg” To use this VPN you need to purchase one of the ‘ primary ‘ Bitdefender products which makes the situation more complicated. Ultimately considering that we have found alarming leaks the price is simply not worth it. Our Rating: 1/10. The most important piece of information here is that it is not a standalone product for Bitdefender Premium VPN. It comes instead as an add-on to other Bitdefender products. You will be given the following options to choose from: Total Internet Security and Antivirus Plus. Once you have signed up for any of these you can add the VPN option via the prices below. Total price $39.99 $3.33 52 percent So the lowest price you can pay is $3.33 per month if you decide to subscribe to the Bitdefender Premium VPN. That means you will be charged $39.99 per annum. Also don’t forget to add the cost of purchasing a primary Bitdefender product as it’s not a standalone app. You can also pay via PayPal credit cards and wire transfer, among other information. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee which you can activate using the customer support system of the company. Differentiating Free Vs. Paid

Let’s not forget that Bitdefender offers Total Security clients its VPN free of charge. This free VPN comes however heavily limited so here are the differences between this option and the premium VPN option. Basic (Free) VPN Premium VPN YES Unlimited 200MB / day Traffic. YES NO YES Country Number 1 27 (ALL)

Do we recommend a Premium VPN Bitdefender?

“2/2.1518.jpg” The answer should be clear now – this VPN service is not recommended! There are numerous issues surrounding this VPN and most importantly we have detected leaks in the data. That beats first of all the purpose of using Bitdefender Premium VPN.Upload Speed Speed Reduction Baseline Data 147.29 Mbps 9.79 Mbps Nearby Server 140.40 Mbps 9.45 Mbps 5 percent Remote Server 9.42 Mbps 11 percent We conclude Bitdefender Premium VPN has slowed us down by an average of 8 percent. We have to say this is one of the best results we have obtained from any VPN yet. However, considering numerous other problems we faced while using this VPN, this is not much worth it.

Customer Support “2/2.1516.jpg” There are different ways to get help – but it seems to be too complicated for the entire system. Still a bit of effort will go a long way on your part. Our Rating: 7/10. Bitdefender has been around for quite a while – so it knows how to offer support to customers. It comes with a unified customer support portal including the VPN service for all of its products. You can check the knowledgebase of frequently asked questions and you can also search the official community forum for help. If you need to speak to someone from this company you can send them an email call or chat live with an agent. As you can see, there are a lot of different ways of getting help. This whole system can however be somewhat complicated and difficult to navigate. Also the agents of Bitdefender do not seem to be overly knowledgeable if you ask for something more complicated as you are often redirected to another department.

“2/2.1517.jpg” To use this VPN you need to purchase one of the ‘ primary ‘ Bitdefender products which makes the situation more complicated. Ultimately considering that we have found alarming leaks the price is simply not worth it. Our Rating: 1/10. The most important piece of information here is that it is not a standalone product for Bitdefender Premium VPN. It comes instead as an add-on to other Bitdefender products. You will be given the following options to choose from: Total Internet Security and Antivirus Plus. Once you have signed up for any of these you can add the VPN option via the prices below. Total price $39.99 $3.33 52 percent So the lowest price you can pay is $3.33 per month if you decide to subscribe to the Bitdefender Premium VPN. That means you will be charged $39.99 per annum. Also don’t forget to add the cost of purchasing a primary Bitdefender product as it’s not a standalone app. You can also pay via PayPal credit cards and wire transfer, among other information. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee which you can activate using the customer support system of the company. Differentiating Free Vs. Paid

Let’s not forget that Bitdefender offers Total Security clients its VPN free of charge. This free VPN comes however heavily limited so here are the differences between this option and the premium VPN option. Basic (Free) VPN Premium VPN YES Unlimited 200MB / day Traffic. YES NO YES Country Number 1 27 (ALL)

Do we recommend a Premium VPN Bitdefender?

“2/2.1518.jpg” The answer should be clear now – this VPN service is not recommended! There are numerous issues surrounding this VPN and most importantly we have detected leaks in the data. That beats first of all the purpose of using Bitdefender Premium VPN.Setup Initial Configuration8 Prominent Features5 Server Count3 Ease of Use6 Media Streaming Torrenting Support2 Speed Performance9 Customer Support7 Pricing1 SUMMARY Despite being provided by a well-known, trustworthy cyber-security company Bitdefender Premium VPN is a highly disappointing service. We firmly believe you can avoid this – and finding a much better alternative should be easy. OVERAL SCORE